Oh, what an interesting day indeed. Not! I mean, when you're so bored you drink heaps of water all day just so you can waste a few minutes by going to the bathroom, you're having a shitty day at work. Well, whenever you can hear yourself go "Yay, I need to pee again!", you kinda realize you'd rather be anywhere else at that point. Then you're bored. As in B-O-R-E-D!
There was nothing to do!!! At least when I went to the bathroom I got to walk somewhere with an actual purpose! Our cleaning lady and most of my colleagues are on strike, so we had to close down the kindergarden until the strike is over. Problem is, though, that we who aren't on strike still have to show up for work. So that's 7,5 hours of doing basically nothing! Even though our boss (who's also not on strike) tells us we can do "looooots of things, like... uh... like... plenty of, uh, stuff." The trick is not to sit down anywhere even remotely comfortable, or else you fall asleep. You want to look alive when she walks by. And for this we get up at 05.30 in the morning.
Madness!
At one point we were ten people at work as the phone rang. I was sitting in the kitchen with three others, and nobody moved. The phone kept ringing, and we all just ignored it. We had nothing to do, just sitting around a table talking crap. But none of us even considered answering the phone. And as it just rang on and on, we figured that all the other people at work were also just sitting somewhere ignoring the phone. It eventually stopped ringing, but I don't think anyone answered it. Funny how being bored can sometimes make you lazy!
My two youngest colleagues put on a video on how to do CPR and made crude comments about the instructor woman and the practice dummy. That's how bored we've been!
The highlight of the day was eating. I kept thinking about this season 4 episode of The Amazing Race I've just downloaded but haven't started watching yet. And aaaaaall day I've had this same song stuck in my head, with Matt Berninger singing
You get mistaken for strangers by your own friends
When you pass them at night under the silvery, silvery citibank lights
Arm in arm in arm, and eyes and eyes glazing under
Oh, you wouldn't want an angel watching over
Surprise, surprise, they wouldn't wanna watch
Another uninnocent elegant fall into the unmagnificant lives of adults
And I really love this song, so I don't want to be sick of it by singing it in my head all day (it's happened before, you see). So I've focused really hard on all the songs on the radio, which for some reason insisted on playing only Mariah Carey, Michael Jackson, and - worst of all - Gitarkameratene! And then, just when I thought I was safe:
Make up something to believe in your heart of hearts
So you have something to wear on your sleeve of sleeves
So you swear you just saw a....
(AAAAAARGH!!! It's the same song!)
You don't mind seeing yourself in a picture
As long as you look faraway
As long as you look removed
(Shhhhhhhh!!!!! LALALALALA!)
I also pondered awhile on what makes Agent Rigsby look almost cute in season 2 (of The Mentalist), whereas in season 1 he just looked... weird. I actually spent a while thinking about that, but came to no conclusion. Realized I need to watch season 1 again, to figure out what's different. I think it's something to do with his hair...
Hmm...
I'm obviously a very busy and important person.
Tuesday, June 08, 2010
The Unmagnificant Lives of Adults
Mused by Annie at 15:51
Labels Aaaargh, The National, work
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)






0 judgements:
Post a Comment